RSS

Fattening Friday

29 Aug

I called my grandma and the first thing she said to me was, “You sound chipper!”

I think she must have thought I was calling to tell her that I wanted to introduce her to a boyfriend or something.

(Sorry Grandma. I think I’d have better luck with men if I shopped amongst the octogenarian bachelors on your street.)

At any rate, it was odd that she should say that because I was rather crabby when I called because I had just been cooking, and that never goes well for me. Cooking is the most frustrating thing in the world, aside from brothers. And maybe paying bills.

No, paying bills is much more pleasant to me than cooking is.

I got to thinking about why I might have sounded chipper, and I realized that I have been laughing all day.

Literally. All day.

Why? you ask.

Well, it’s like this.

My coworkers are all going on this diet thing beginning on Tuesday. I guess there’s this competition to see who can lose the most weight in 3 months and yada, yada, yada. I didn’t really pay much attention to it — just like I don’t really pay attention to much of anything at work aside from my actual work.

So my coworkers decided that because they are all doing this diet challenge, we are going to have “Fattening Friday” tomorrow — where everybody is supposed to bring something really unhealthy and fattening.

I was sitting there, not paying attention to their conversation (as is my wont), when all of a sudden, one of them said, “Mari! That announcement was for you.”

I looked up from my work and said, “What?”

They asked me if I really hadn’t heard them.

Yes. I really didn’t hear you. I was reading an e-mail.

(On a side note, I am very good at blocking things out. I do it almost all the time.)

They didn’t believe me. They must think I just pretend like I’m working while they chit-chat. Nope. I’m actually working. And I’m not listening.

I asked what they had been telling me, and this is how I became privy to tomorrow’s Fattening Friday potluck. They explained the concept and what they hoped to accomplish with this little party and then one of them asked, “So, what are you bringing?”

After thinking about 3/10 of a second, I said, “I think I’ll bring a salad.”

Everybody busted out laughing.

And one of them said through guffaws “That was funny.”

Thank you. Thank you very much.

It’s only taken them almost 2 years to “get” my sense of humor. I feel very accomplished tonight.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in Current Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Fattening Friday

  1. culinaryperusings

    August 29, 2013 at 11:55 PM

    you are indeed good at blocking things out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Eighth and Final Square

with courage face the thing you fear so the pawn becomes the queen

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

culinaryperusings

Reviewing Eateries and Exploring Recipes

The Eighth and Final Square

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

Incongruous Circumspection

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

