RSS

Little White Lies

15 Jan

An anecdote from today:

Someone walked up to me today and said, “How’s your husband, Mari?”

Anybody who has been single forever (and those who have been single for nearly forever), hate having discussions like this. Because if you say that you don’t have a husband, approximately 37.4% of the time, the person will ask “Why not?”

Keep in mind that 90% of all statistics are made up.

I just stood there for a second, thinking about how to respond to this question. Yes, I know honesty is the best policy. But…. if you answer the question honestly…. Let’s just say it would lead to about 50 shades of embarrassment. (Sometimes, these discussions lead to unsolicited marriage proposals that you somehow have to politely refuse. Yes, this has happened to me.)

So I said, “Oh, he’s fine.”

I turned to walk away, telling myself that it wasn’t exactly a lie, because he’s gotta be out there…. somewhere…. and as far as I know, he’s not…. not fine.

Then I got to thinking about if he isn’t fine. If he’s not fine, then…. well, that would be absolutely horrible because there wouldn’t be much I could do about it. THAT is a depressing thought.

I was just about around the corner when the person in question said, “Hey, Mari- are you two still getting along?”

I guess this must be why we aren’t supposed to lie. Because when you tell one little lie, you end up having to tell another one.

I said, “Oh, yeah…. Of course.” And in my mind, I amended it with, “because it’s impossible to not get along with someone that you may or may not have ever met.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in Current Events

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

