RSS

Simple Gifts

30 Jan

The other day, my favorite 4-year old was wearing (in the middle of winter) a tiny little skirt that she had when she was a baby. She’s tall and slender so it fit one way but not the other. And it was decided that this skirt wasn’t going to be worn again.

I was out and about today and I saw a skirt that screamed “MUNCHKIN!” at me. So I bought it. It’s blue with sparkles. I took it to her and I said I had a present for her. She was absolutely delighted when I showed it to her. She asked if she could try it on and then she asked me to hold her. She hugged me for several minutes and then I told her she should probably put her jammies on. She said, “But I want to sleep in this!”

I love little kids. It’s so much fun to bring them surprises because it makes them so happy and when they’re happy, I’m happy too.

I like to think God is like that too. He knows exactly what would delight us. He knows exactly how to make us smile and what will thrill us. He knows that doing things that delight us is going to make us draw closer to Him; make us want to sit with Him and hold Him tight.

The Bible says that every good gift and every perfect gift is from above. God gives us tons of gifts — the problem is that sometimes we are too busy to notice. Or we’re so consumed with the things we want that we don’t notice what He’s already given us. Most of the time, I’m so consumed with the longing to have someone to come home to that I forget that I have terrific friends across town that I can hang out with any time I want to. I’m so consumed with wishing I could live in a house with a garage that I forget that I have so many wonderful windows and a bathtub. I’m so focused on how cold it is this morning that I completely overlook the gorgeous sunrise.

Let’s not be so consumed with the things we don’t have that we lose sight of the beauty and the blessings around us. He has blessed us so much. And He does it because He wants to bring us delight. He wants to see us recognize His hand in it, and He longs for us to ask Him to hold us so we can rest in His goodness and grace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in Current Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

