RSS

Making New Friends

11 Apr

I’m not a very social person.

I’ve spent the majority of the past three days sitting all by myself in my little living room.

Part of it has to do with the fact that I was sick. And part of it has to do with the snow drifts that were up to my knees this morning when I made a futile attempt to go to work. When I got out to my car, I found out that work was closed anyway, so I just went back inside and continued my 3-day antisocial streak.

Every so often, I have moments of not being extremely introverted.

Like, Monday, for example.

After seeing the doctor (who said, “You’re sick, alright. Go home and go to bed.”), I went to the grocery store to pick up some milk and juice and fruits and veggies. You know — as long as I’m not going anywhere for at least 24 hours, I might as well have some food that’s a little healthy.

At the store, I made my way to the produce department. A young woman with two little girls had stopped to pick something up. The littlest girl was sitting in the cart, and when she saw me, she grinned at me and said, “Hi!”

She was just so dang cute I had to stop and chat.

“Hi!” I said. “I love your jacket. It’s so cute!”

Not to be outdone by her little sister, the older girl excitedly reported, “That’s my little sister!”

No way!” I said. “You’re so lucky to have such a nice little sister! I wish I could have a little sister!”

I went on with my shopping and ran into them in the meat department.

“You two are some serious shoppers!” I said. No really — they were totally into this whole shopping thing.

And then, at the dairy department, I had stopped to grab some milk and who should walk up behind me but the lady with the two little girls.

“Hi!” they squealed with delight.

“We need some milk!” the older girl said.

“Me too! We should be friends or something!”

Cow!” hollered the smaller girl, pointing up at a display on the top of the shelf.

I looked at the cow. “You’re right!” I squealed. “It’s a cow! Why do they have a cow in the grocery store? I thought cows lived in barns!”

She went on jabbering about cows and the older sister went to help her mommy.

I finished my shopping and went to the checkout. And guess who was in line right in front of me.

“Hi!” squealed the older sister.

“Hi!” I said. “I keep finding you!”

“What’s your name?” she asked.

We introduced ourselves to each other — and we’ve been friends ever since.

* * * * *

That’s how easy it should be to make friends, right?

* * * * *

Because of all the snow, and because I was sick of sitting here all by myself, I walked to a free meal that was going on tonight.

At the meal, I ran into a kid I know. He’s like 17 or something. He was sitting with a kid I’d never met. I went to talk to my friend, but I ended up talking about everything from contact lenses to homosexual relationships to legalization of marijuana to World War III, to antisocial tendencies with my friend’s friend. And, if you ask me, all of those topics are interconnected.

*sigh*

I won’t go into the details of this conversation, but I’m convinced we found the key to world peace.

And in the process, I made a new friend.

Teenage boys are awesome.

* * * * *

While I was chatting with my new friend, there was an adult sitting across from me who kept interrupting my fascinating conversation with questions about my job. I was all like, “Dude! Do you not have anything more interesting to say to me? World peace? North Korea? What is your take on legalization of marijuana? Have you read any good poetry lately? Even contact lenses would be more interesting.” Finally he gave up and I went back to my conversation about how I’m antisocial with my (new) friend.

* * * * *

And that is the story of how I made three new friends in the past three days.

Perhaps tomorrow I’ll graduate to making friends with grownups. I’ll keep you posted.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2013 in Current Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Making New Friends

  1. Matthew Hoffman

    April 12, 2013 at 12:25 AM

    Did you become friends with the mother of the little girls in the grocery store? I assumed you had but then you seemed to indicate that you only made friends with non-adults.

     
    • marismuses

      April 12, 2013 at 9:42 PM

      The Mama didn’t appear to be interested in speaking to me.

       

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

