RSS

Faith of a Child

11 May

My sweet niece, Bailey (9 months) is at the age where she’s getting really good at scooting around and she’s curious about everything. We had a bubble machine going tonight and she wasn’t enthralled with the bubbles so much as she was with the machine that was making them. At first, she watched the bubbles floating in the air, and then she reached up to touch them. But after watching a couple of bubbles pop, she was done. The machine had moving parts and it made noise. It must be explored!

Later in the evening, I was holding Miss Bailey and I thought it would be cool to see what she would do if I helped her stand up. We started out standing by the coffee table. She found something interesting on the table and was oblivious to the fact that I let go of her — and she stood on her own for quite a while. I was right behind her the whole time, but the second I looked at something else, a gust of wind blew at her (or she realized I wasn’t holding her anymore) and she fell.

She was more scared than hurt. She cried — the kind of cry where you don’t breathe for a dangerously…. long…. time…. and just as quickly as the tears came, the tears went.

When I left, I picked Miss Bailey up to tell her goodbye. She put her head on my shoulder and snuggled in.

Trusting.

Trusting that I wasn’t going to let anything happen to her.

Trusting that I love her.

Trusting that I believe in her.

Trusting that this was in the safest place she could possibly be.

It’s moments like those that make life a beautiful thing.

I love spending time with babies and toddlers because they are so innocent. They are so free from anger. Free from the emotional baggage that ties the rest of us down. They don’t make connections between what happened in the past and what could possibly happen in the future. They just trust. They just believe that they are loved, they are safe and they are provided for. They are free to receive everything you have to give them.

The faith of a child.

I believe that God wants us to be like little Bailey. He wants us to not let past pain weaken our faith. He wants us to not let bitterness or anger poison our faith. He wants us to simply rest. Just believe that He has it all covered.

That is the faith of a child.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 11, 2013 in Current Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

