RSS

And After You Have Done Everything

12 Jun

The past few days, I’ve kind of felt like I couldn’t take any more. And after I decided that I couldn’t take any more, I found out that I could take a lot more than I thought I could.

I hate it when that happens.

But, I also love it.

Because when I can’t take any more, that’s when I stop trying so hard.

In a way, I give up.

But I don’t give up in order to wallow in hopelessness.

I give up on having it my way.

I give up so I can wallow in God.

Because sometimes, you just need to rest.

I like Ephesians 6:13. Therefore, put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

I like that verse because it talks about practicalities. Yes, prepare. Yes, protect yourself. Yes, do what you need to do to stand up for yourself. But, after you have done everything, you can stop doing. Your job is to just stand. Don’t give up — but take some time to just be. Rest. Gather yourself together. Just stand.

I had a situation today where I had to decide when to stop “doing” and when to start “standing.” I was so tempted to just give up. I was sick of all the drama and all the backstabbing. But then I was reminded that after I had done everything I could do, I still needed to stand. I still needed to be me, and I still needed to do what I’ve always done, because I do what I do out of love, not out of a desire for recognition. Regardless of how I feel about what’s going on, there are people who need me. So right now, my job is to stand. My job is to not let discouragement get the best of me. My job is to keep on keeping on.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Current Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “And After You Have Done Everything

  1. emkatcreations

    July 17, 2013 at 10:27 AM

    I just wandered over to your blog from the NLQ page. I love this line “I give up so I can wallow in God.” It resonates so deeply with me, thank you.

     
    • marismuses

      July 17, 2013 at 4:43 PM

      Thank you. 🙂 I hope you visit often.

       

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

