RSS

Nursing School

20 Aug

I’m a nurse.

Until about two weeks ago, I was a nursing student.

Being a nursing student is a lot of work. It’s a lot of stress. It’s a lot of studying, a lot of sleepless nights and a lot of jumping through hoops. It involves giving up a lot of things — like spending time with your friends and family, holidays, vacations, favorite television shows and writing new blog posts. I had to give up a job that I adored because I couldn’t make the 300 hours of clinical that I had to complete in 12 weeks work with my work schedule. I missed out on the first several months of my favorite set of twins’ lives because I was studying. I missed out on lots of events in my other favorite kids’ lives. My friends called dibs on my free time and my house didn’t get cleaned. My laundry didn’t get done. I didn’t have time to buy groceries and I didn’t have time to cook. I ate a lot of fast food and my exercise was running the hallways during clinical. Because I’m a nurse. Nurses don’t walk. They run.

Nursing school isn’t for everyone.

Sometimes, I was sure nursing school wasn’t for me.

But I managed to graduate.

I managed to pass the NCLEX exam on my first attempt.

And even though I’ve graduated and I’ve passed the licensure exam and received my license in the mail two weeks ago, sometimes…. sometimes, I’m still not so sure nursing is for me.

Tomorrow I will meet with my employer to go through new-hire paperwork.

I can’t believe, after wanting it for so long, and working so hard for it, after writing a gajillion discussion posts and taking a few million online tests and spending several hundred hours at two different hospitals, a clinic and a nursing home, it’s finally here.

Tomorrow, I will be officially employed as a nurse.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 20, 2014 in Current Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Nursing School

  1. thecity4square

    August 22, 2014 at 7:03 PM

    Congratulations! I’ve watched people go through nursing school, and that’s what convinced me I couldn’t do it.

    Remember, adjusting to a new job takes time, so even if it’s hard right away don’t get discouraged. Give it at least 6 months before deciding if you really fit in.

     

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

