RSS

30 Things, 4 Years Later: Day 3

13 Apr

30 Things to Accomplish in my 30s:
#3. Get rid of all my household cleansers and replace them with chemical-free, naturally antibacterial cleaning products.

Well…. this one has been a bit more successful than the walking thing.

I use dish soap, dishwasher pods and drain cleaner that I get at the grocery store. When I wash whites (pillows, mattress pads, etc), I use laundry detergent (from the grocery store), powder dishwasher detergent, Borax and bleach. I use hand soaps, body wash and shampoo and conditioner from the store, as well as an occasional antibacterial wipe. I no longer use any other chemical cleaners.

I use vinegar, baking soda and peroxide for cleaning, plus the following products.
From Norwex:
Dusting mitt and dusting wand
Bathroom cleaning mitt
Bathroom cleaner (I *love* the bathroom cleaner. It takes away dirt and stains faster and easier than any other product I’ve ever used. In my experience, it does the same thing as a descaling product you could find at a grocery store, only it doesn’t irritate the skin or lungs like regular cleaning products do.)
Mattress cleaner
Laundry detergent
Dryer balls
The grey sponge thingy- *love* it!
Wet mop (I have found it challenging to get edges and corners clean with the mop. Not sure how to remedy that, short of getting down on my knees to do it.)
Antibac cloths
Window cloth
Dry mop- (I don’t use it much because the vacuum works better on my laminate flooring.)
Stain remover (laundry)
Descaler- (I have found this one to be a skin and respiratory irritant — it says that on the bottle too — but not nearly as bad as the ones you can buy at the store. Fortunately, I don’t get tons of buildup, so I don’t need to use it much anyway. It works great — I just need gloves and mask when I use it because I’m super sensitive.)
Lint removal glove- I love this product, but mine is so full of lint that it won’t pick up any more. I have no idea how to clean it.

I have been using Norwex laundry detergent exclusively for over a year. I ran out recently and it just feels…. wrong…. to use heavily scented blue liquid instead. Unfortunately, the person I got all my product from has retired and I haven’t been able to find anybody else to buy from yet.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2016 in 30 Things

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

