RSS

30 Things, 4 Years Later: Day 11

20 Apr

30 Things to Accomplish in my 30s:
#11. Make time to do something that benefits mainly myself once a week.

I get so caught up in what other people need that I don’t think about what I need unless I get so sick that the only thing I can think about is how miserable I am.

That’s not healthy. Not at all.

I’ve been thinking about this goal this morning and asking myself if I’ve made any progress in this one.

It seems like everything I do benefits other people — even when it’s something that I do simply because I love it and it makes me happy.

Take my job, for example. I absolutely love it. I come home more relaxed and happier than I was when I went. My job is just as restful as sleep, most of the time.

My employer thinks I go to work for the benefit of the family I work for and especially for the child I care for. And I do. But I also go to work because it makes me happy. My work fills something in me that wouldn’t get filled otherwise.

When you love your job like I do — when you are doing the thing that you were made to do, you’re doing something for yourself every single day. You’re doing something for yourself 40 hours a week. And you’re getting paid to do it.

When it comes to things like manicures and haircuts and new shoes, nope. I’ve miserably failed this one. Exercise? Eating right? Makeup? Fail. Movies? Shopping? None of those things even registered on the “Did It To Make Me Happy Meter.”

Many of the things that make me happy are things that make other people happy too. Like snuggling babies. Baking cookies. Long conversations. Having a clean house. Flowers growing in the back yard.

How would you classify this? Do I need to take time for a pedicure and hair cut? Or do you think this is ok? What would you suggest for self-care for a person like me? Comment below!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2016 in 30 Things, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

