RSS

30 Things, 4 Years Later: Day 18

27 Apr

30 Things to Accomplish in my 30s: Day 18

#18 As much as is possible, avoid sacrificing tact on the altar of truth.

What this means is that if it can’t be said kindly, it probably doesn’t need to be said.

This one comes and goes.

I stumbled across this article this evening and it explains beautifully how and why tact is sometimes absent in everyday conversations.

It’s because hurt people hurt people.

No, it’s not ok to hurt someone emotionally, physically, or any other way. It’s also not ok to use past (or present) pain as an excuse to inflict pain on someone else.

But, our own pain is the reason we speak and behave unkindly.

I suppose you could say that this goal could be reworded “deal with my pain so I can be a healer instead of a hurter.”

As I said before, it comes and goes.

Lately, things have been particularly painful and difficult and I’m sure I’ve been less than kind on several occasions.

And for that, to those I’ve hurt, I apologize.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 27, 2016 in 30 Things

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

