RSS

130 Pounds Squished in a Box

02 May

I just finished reading this book:

image

It’s about a girl who was put into a mental hospital because she was built like a boy, she liked “boy stuff” and she wasn’t into girlie things.

This is an excellent book, but it did make me question whether I really want to be a counselor for kids.

Because kids who need counselors…. they know stuff.

It’s just a little intimidating!!

I got to the last chapter and she was talking about who she is now and the things that she’s done.

This gave me goosebumps:

image

I get that.

130 pounds squished into a box. No individuality. No one sees who and what you are. 130 pounds squished into a box is so easy and so convenient to shove into a corner and forget about.

I think we forget that the moving, breathing, talking things in front of us are people. People with value. People with gifts. Talents. Emotions. Pain. Experience. We get so caught up in our own little world that we miss the subtle ways they cry out for help.

We miss so much. Partly because we’re too busy to look. Partly because we want to see what we want to see. Partly because we have an agenda — a diagnosis to apply, a treatment plan to write up, assessments of whether the treatment plan is working.

It’s heartbreaking how the psychiatrists had this broken child in front of them and they completely missed it. She was falling apart on the inside because of abuse she’d suffered and all they saw was that she didn’t want to wear a dress.

When I’m a counselor…. I hope I can address the real issues more often than not. I hope no child ever leaves my care without feeling like who they are is amazing and they are capable of doing great things.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2016 in Profundities

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Jjmum14's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Mindy Peltier

In the Write Moment

Reaching4HisHem

Stretching out to touch His hem with 6 kids in tow:)

Just a few things I've been thinking about....

